NAS

BPi Pro Server - security concerns

6 3528
Edited by balli1187 at Wed Jan 21, 2015 13:05

Hello community,

i got a banana pi pro for christmas and really likes it There are so much projekts i could imagine and so much possibilities... woahhhhhhh!

One of the thinks i want to implement is a BaPi-Homeserver. And of course i want to access it from away. So far i know i have to use a service like DynDNS (i chose no-ip.com because its free) because of the changing IP-Address. My router does not support this service so i will implement it directly on the BaPi and use port forwarding on the router.

The access should be implemented via OpenVPN.  I'm not a network expert but as i understand it, i can easily access every other client in my Home-Lan (like my dreambox reciever) while using VPN. Secound reason for it is that it sounds quiet secure because of the VPN certificate. But never the less i'm not sure whether it is rellay safe or not.

So i can somebody please give me some hints and advices for my project? I'm worried about opening my home network to much and give access to everybody.
And of course: if i have a great misunderstanding of how the things work, please tell me ;-)

Greetings from Germany,
Stephan
Djee  
Hello Stephan,

I actually bought an banana pi (not pro) today and have a similar vision of using my BaPi as a standalone media / file server. As my current setup is using a physical PC, the power consumption is to high for these basic tasks, so it makes allot of sense to use a low-power solution to share my personal files.

The experiences I have so far with OpenVPN, FritzBox (which I assume you are using, living in Germany) and DynDNS No-IP.com, are shared below.

TL;DR: When setup OpenVPN correctly the security threats are really minimum to non existing as it is very difficult to intercept.

If you do want to be a bit more secure, as it is actually more security by obscurity, you can have a look at below tips.

Using DynDNS like no-ip.com