Discussion

Banana Pro stopped functioning.....

16 1933
raviv99  

I bought a new banana pro last week in India from dealer on eBay.
I was able to setup  banian OS and use the new SBC for 2 days with minor issues.
However, was unable to use it with a powered USB hub which works fine with my raspberry Pi B+ Mode.

Meanwhile, while working on connecting a external hard disk,  connected the powered USB hub first and later powered the SBC board.
The whole unit has stopped working now. No lights on SBC glows, Red,green. Tried different power supplies but no change.
Visually inspected the board, no signs of any damage appears or burn out though.

I have been working with various boards for past 2 years and never encountered such a issue with any of them.

Checked with dealer and was told 'No manufacture warranty in India'.
Now stuck with a non-functional board and nowhere to go.

Can anyone recommend what can be done? Is the board gone, to be thrown away ??

You should try to access via serial connection for debug:
http://wiki.lemaker.org/BananaPr ... the_TTL_serial_port

I doubt that the powered USB hub has backwards the current into Banana Pro.
Please remove all the external device from Banana Pro, and just power the Banana Pro independently.

raviv99  
Thanks for your recommendations

I do not have any devices connected only an external power cable connected to micro usb port to power the board. Board seems to be dead on power on.

I will try once again and check the serial debug option

raviv99  
I tried using serial USB connector, there is no response from the device.
I can feel the AX209p chip getting hot on connecting to power supply.
However, none of the led lights gets switched on, nor any output from HDMI

I believe, there is no alternative now. But to go for a new board only.

As a last ditch attempt you could try checking if the diode marked "D4" is fried.

If the diode is ok try removing the "U9" boost converter and then power up the board.