Trouble

Compiling driver for DVB-C stick (TT CT2-4400) SOLVED

51 29431
maxwell  
Post Last Edited by maxwell at 2014-8-9 15:24

UPDATE *** UPDATE
Turns out missing headers and many other things were just the beginning. But post #21 marks the successful working of the driver, so no need to read everything all too carefully till then. To sum it up. That stick and probably some of the other new ones by Technotrend will work fine on the BPi.
UPDATE *** UPDATE

Hello everyone,
I am new to the BPi scene and enjoy every second of it. Used a RPi before for my webserver needs and so on. With the new power of the BPi I want to add a tv streaming service with DVB-C sticks based on tvheadend. So far so good. I got everything working with a Hauppauge 930-c one (no, not the HD one) but it is totally unreliable so I bought a new Technotrend CT2-4400 stick that I try to use now.

Problem is, drivers are not built in to the kernel, so I need to compile them myself. Technotrend delivers driver sources and some instructions for it, they tested for kernels 3.5.x onwards but I don't see a reason why they shouldnt compile with 3.4.90:
http://www.tt-downloads.de/Linux/media_build-bst-140417.tar.gz
http://www.tt-downloads.de/Linux ... 00ci_ct2-4650ci.pdf

On the make command I get error:
  1. Preparing to compile for kernel version 3.4.90
  2. File not found: /lib/modules/3.4.90/build/.config at ./scripts/make_kconfig.pl line 33, <IN> line 4.
  3. make[1]: *** No rule to make target `.myconfig', needed by `config-compat.h'.  Stop.
  4. make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/media_build-bst/v4l'
  5. make: *** [all] Error 2
Copy the Code