NAS

Power Requirements of Banana Pi and 2.5" SATA plus USB Wifi

0 1827
Hi People,
My first post and first delve into the Banana Pi.
Whilst I have a fair amount of Windows experience and some MAC I have little Linux knowledge. I have really only played with a few Linux Live CD distros such as Puppy Linux so this is really going to be a learning experience for me. I am sure I will need to post further questions to overcome my lack of knowledge.
After reading a lot about both Banana and Raspberry Pi boards I have decided my first project is going to be an in-car entertainment system to keep my grandsons happy on long journeys. I aim to have a Banana Pi as a file server with a 1Tb SATA drive and make this a Wireless Hotspot. Connected to this by wireless will be two Raspberry Pi's each running Openelec and each connected to a seperate 7" TFT screen. The idea being each Raspberry pi will be able to run a seperate session of Openelec and stream seperate videos to each screen simultaneously. My aim for this setup is:-
1) No streaming Server - Banana Pi as a simple file server serving up the video files to the Raspberry Pi(s)
2) Portable - I should be able to unclip each screen and Raspberry pi from the headreast as there will only need to be a power connection to the Screen/Pi. Also the Banana Pi will also only have to plug into a power source as connections to the RPIs will be via wireless.
My idea is to install the Banana pi and 2.5" hard drive into a cheap USB Hard drive enclosure such as this. The benefits being:-
1) It already has a built in 12v to 5v power supply
2) It will protect the BPi and hard drive from physical damage and hopefully act as a heatsink for the SOC.
3) It has an external power switch and 12v connection which can go straight into a cigarette lighter
4) I can mount the antenna of a USB Wireless dongle to the end of the case.
My questions are however:-