Bananian

GPT Corruption on large USB drives - Rootfs install fail

2 385
Hello All,

I'm a newbie and was trying to get the rootfs to run from a USB drive. I have installed and image from this forum that includes Asterisk and it works fine from the SD card, I believe it is the latest version of Bananian.  There are a lot of instructions on how to do that and I think I have performed the task properly. However I have a had no success at all in bringing this about.  I have two USB devices I have tried. One is a Seagate 1TB USB 3 drive and the other is Toshiba of the same spec.  

Both devices mount and are seen by the system.  When I create a GPT partition of Linux File System type  I am unable to mount the drive even after a reboot, I get an error that it is a bad file system or some other error has occured.  If I format it as EXT4 this goes well but when I look at the disk with gdisk it tells me the GPT is corrupt, I am unable to clear the corruption as it creates 128 partitions that are all unaligned and overlaping.  If if use Fdisk I cannot get a UUID that is required by boot.cmd and trying it with root=/dev/sda1 fails so I need the PARTUUID.  Is there another format that should be used on GPT drives?  Are these large capacity USB3 drives unsupported (although they clearly work with USB2)?  I have tried moving the file system over after an EXT4 format and it moves over fine but the partiion is not found after a reboot and gdisk still talks about corruption. Fdisk tells me there is trace EXT4 fs and that I should use wipefs to clean it up.

Is there a definitive How_to on this subject?

What format should the boot.cmd "root=UUID=<unique ID>"  be in " and should the <> be included?

Thanks for any help, I have sat at the terminal for 40 hours and tried just about every combination one might think of and I am all in with it,

Bryn
Edited by bryngerard at Oct 06, 2016 04:51