Bananian

Bug in bananian-config?

6 3506
Hi Nico,

With reference to the latest version 14.09, I had a problem when I was trying to set the locale in bananian-config.

The default seems to be en_US.UTF-8 UTF-8 but I wanted to change it to en_GB.UTF-8 UTF-8 (rest assured, it's nothing personal against those darn Yanks).

I did so, but after confirming it, on the next page it gave me only the options of 'None' or 'en_US.UTF-8 UTF-8' and did not seem to register my change.

It happened on 3 separate installs last week and it's possible that because I am a noob I did it incorrectly, but you might just want to quickly investigate if that is indeed the case. It's not all that important and it's not the end of the world if I have to put up with an American locale.

I cannot try it out now because I don't have a spare SD card to install on to and do a quick check.

Unfortunately for you, I won't using Bananian at any time in the near future as I am only interested in distros with GUIs. (I did try installing an X-server but I only only ended up breaking the install - that's how incompetent I am.)

Also, I have no idea how bash works, so for the zsh shell I am completely clueless.

But it's clear to me that for certain applications, your OS is a boon.

Thx

Thanks for reporting, I will check if there is a problem.

Wow, you are super quick and efficient!!

If only everything in this world and in my life was like that..........

tkaiser  
I won't using Bananian at any time in the near future as I am only interested in distros with GUIs. (I did try installing an X-server but I only only ended up breaking the install

Theoretically all you have to do is:

0) visit https://wiki.debian.org/DesktopEnvironment and pick the desktop environment which fits your needs (I would prefer a lightweight like Xfce or LXDE). Click on the appropriate link and follow the advices to install the desktop environment (they're rather simple). In case you want to give eg. LXDE a try: