Lubuntu

Please explain how to overclock.

12 7161
dwirish  
I previously asked about overclocking, but the article was not clear about what to do (in ubuntu), and assumed that I'm an expert already.

If I need to edit a specific file, it would help to actually state that in the instructions. I was given what looked to be a bunch of directories, but when I followed the paths, they did not match what was on my fresh install of Lubuntu.

If I need to create a script file, it would help to actually state that in the instructions.

As a documentation writer, myself, I find it best to approach is to write all instructions for complete novices. You need to write instructions for how to do something from the point of view of someone who knows nothing yet. This way, people who really do know nothing will be able to follow, while people who are experts can see what they need to see, and skip over what they know they won't need to review.

I am simply trying to get this banana pi up to the same level of functionality as my Raspberry pi, which i not only easily and quickly set up with MAME emulating at full speed, but which I easily got Linux installed on for general use, and can use as a fully-functional portable computer. I did not have to struggle as hard with the Raspberry Pi as i have had to with the Banana Pi.

dwirish, I completely agree with you about documentation. It is best to assume your reader knows very little. I would like to overclock as well.

If the Banana Pi is to succeed, documentation and guides need to be very simple and clearso that they are accessible by all not just super techies.

tkaiser  
Edited by tkaiser at Tue Dec 2, 2014 04:31

Advanced features should be used by advanced users solely that also understand the implications of their doings (decreasing the life-span of their device due to overheating or burning their device immediately). If someone fails to use the forum search or use a simple web search using for example